If you live in California and want to drive a car legally, then you must register your vehicle. For this reason, you must know about California License Plates. Keep on reading if you want to get detailed information about California License Plates.
If you buy a vehicle or bring it from another state you must first register it with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You can make an online application to make the process easier. Yet, you should keep in mind that you must appear in person at the nearest branch of DMV to complete the whole process of application.
You have to bring some important documents to complete the application. These documents include a completed application for Title of Registration, the Title of your vehicle, and a valid Smog Certificate. Besides providing all these documents you must pay the registration fee, which is $46. You can get your new license plate within 4 to 6 weeks and it will be mailed to your DMV vehicle record address.
You can request to get an owner information about this or that particular license plate. However, you should keep in mind that you can get this kind of information only if you have an acceptable DPPA reason.
If you want to replace your stolen CA DMV license plate you must know about three ways to do it. These are online, in person, and the replacement via mail. Regardless of the way of replacement, you must file a police report, provide all the important documents and pay all the necessary fees.
The process of getting a license plate in California is not as difficult as you may think. You just need to meet some requirements and follow some important steps.
In case of buying a vehicle in California or bringing it from another state, you must register the car with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
If you buy a car at a dealership, they will take the whole process of registration on themselves. In this case, you will get a temporary registration card before receiving the permanent one. The process is a little bit complicated if you buy a car from a private person. You must appear in person at the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days.
If you want to get your CA DMV license plate, then you must follow these steps:
Your new license plate is mailed directly to your DMV vehicle record address. You can receive it within 4 to 6 weeks.
If you see a black plate on the vehicle, it means the car has permanently been in the State of California since its issuance. You can see a yellow plate only on commercial vehicles, like taxies and trucks.
If you want to get black and yellow license plates in California then you must request them online. You can fill the Special Interest License plate application form.
All plates regardless of color cost $50. You must pay $40 each year to renew your license plate.
A California citizen can have different reasons for requesting to get owner information for a license plate. You can do a California License Plate Lookup by VIN or by a license plate. Yet, you must have an acceptable DPPA (Driver’s Privacy Protection Act) reason to get this kind of information.
You can do California License Plate Number Lookup on the California DMV Official Webpage. The process is much easier if you want to find information about your own car. CA DMV license plate Lookup results include vehicle history, vehicle information, VIN information, vehicle Status, Smog Certificate, Safety and Recall notices and Limited Vehicle Registration information.
You have to replace your stolen, damaged, or lost license plates immediately. You can make an online application, appear in person at DMV or order a replacement via mail.
If you want to replace your license plate, you must follow these steps:
If you choose to replace your license plate online, you must refer to the DMV and order a replacement online. In this case, you must provide your license plate number, the last three numbers of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). Besides these steps, you must the eligibility of your vehicle. You can make a payment only via e-check.
If you want to replace your California License Plate in person, you must:
If you want to replace your California License Plate via mail, then you must:
If you want to check the status, then you must follow these simple steps:
If you want to convert an out of state license plate in California you must complete:
If you want to change your California license plate to Oregon you must provide the original out of state Title. However, if you have lost the Title you must contact the DMV by phone at 1-800-777-0133.
You can get a temporary license plate in some special circumstances when you have already paid all the registration fees and are still waiting for the permanent one. CA Temporary license plate is valid for 90 days until you get the permanent one via mail. However, if you want to extend it you must pay an additional $50.
The State of California has started to require having license plates to drive a car legally since 1905. The State of California requires all registered drivers to have two license plates. The first one must be on the front of the vehicle and the second one on the backside of the vehicle.
There is a great number of license plates in California. They can be used for different purposes, like supporting causes (arts, education, and environment), identifying special status, providing special recognition, etc.
There is a variety of license plates in California:
In California Vanity Plates are called Special Interest License Plates. Vanity Plates bear a personalized combination of numbers and letters. It is possible to choose any possible combination of characters. However, there is a limit of six or seven digits.
The process of getting a CA Vanity License Plate is quite easy. Almost all the designs are available and you can order them by making an online application at DMV. There are some paper options as well and you can get them by appearing at DMV in person.
The owner of the car must be ready to pay extra money for getting a Vanity License Plate in California. The cost ranges from $0 to $103. Once you meet all the requirements and your design is approved you can get your Vanity License Plate.
If you want to check the availability, then you must call the DMV by phone at 1-800-777-0133 and ask for permission to speak to an associate. You must tell the correct combination of letters and they will check the availability.
As to the cost of getting a license plate in California. The cost ranges depending on the type of license plate you want to get. However, you must know that if you want to get a vanity license plate, you have to pay extra money (from $0 to $103).